Lazy Domain Squatters

January 30, 2017

As someone who owns a few domains, I periodically(at least once or twice a year) get emailed by a domain squatter that contacts me in an attempt to sell a domain that is similar sounding to one I already own.

For those that are not familiar, a domain squatter is someone that purchases a domain with the intention of selling it(or holding it and then selling it,) for profit as opposed to using it. For example, if the .com version of a domain is taken and the .net version becomes available, a squatter, likely through the use of automated services/programming, may scoop up the .net version when it expires and then attempt to sell it to the .com owner at much higher than the likely $10-60 it cost them to purchase it.

So, when I received an email with legal jargon offering to sell me the .com version of a domain I already own, I almost tossed it in the trash, as I typically do when receiving these sorts of emails. However, for some reason, I decided to check the whois registration anyway and was surprised to find that the domain had fully expired and was available for purchase at regular rates.

It turned out that this lazy domain squatter was trying to sell me a domain, at an exorbitant rate, that they didn’t even own. They were making the minimum investment, an email, in the hopes that it would pay out, without even owning the domain.

I suppose this could just mean their automated tool is broken, but I like to think it is a lazy squatter hoping to make a quick(and cheap) buck, with little to no monetary risk.

While I still recommend not responding to or legitimizing domain squatters and their quasi-extortionist tactics, as unless you are Google, Paypal, or Amazon, you really don’t need to own every iteration of your domain name, if you get an email from someone trying to sell you a domain that you want, it is worth at least checking the whois to see if it is available for purchase!

Leave a Reply

