Going Old School With the Razor

January 20, 2016

Merkur 34CFor the past month or so, I have been using a safety razor and wanted to share my experiences with them. The TLDR is that even though it takes a bit longer than my previous shaving method, I’ve grown to enjoy it and think I am sold on the double edged safety razor.

Trying out a safety razor has been something I have wanted to do for some time now. However, the initial cost of ownership and vast difference from my normal shaving method had always gotten in the way of me jumping in.

For the past ten or so years, I’ve been what you could call a lazy shaver. Rather than getting caught up in the newest Mach XXX $haver from Gillette(whom seems to always be adding one more blade,) I’ve been using 2-blade disposable razors for years. I’ve found that as long as I keep them dry, they last for a long time and when they only cost a few cents, it ends up being a really easy way to go. So, I’d shave in the shower without shaving cream, touch up in the mirror afterwards, and be done in a few minutes. Probably not the best way, nor did I always have an exceptionally clean shave, but it was really easy and in-expensive.

I’ve been reading about the safety razor for a couple years now, possibly just because like Arch Linux, it’s proponents are often quite outspoken, so it is something that has intrigued me for some time.

One of the main things that has been preventing me from jumping in was the initial cost of the shaving kit. By the time you buy a halfway decent razor(unless you get lucky at Goodwill or something,) shaving soap, optional stand, aftershave, and a brush, you are looking at around $40 – $60. For someone who is buying a new Mach-16 blade every week, $40-60 is incredibly cheap, but with the way I use disposable razors, that is at least 20 years of razors.

So, for me the biggest hurdle was a mental one overcoming my the frugal part of my brain. The common argument is that it is actually cheaper than using a regular razor, but this simply isn’t the case for me. Using a safety/double edge razor is actually more expensive and takes longer for me. I’m extremely glad I finally did take the plunge though, as I have grown to enjoy the ritual of the shave. It is sort of like how brewing coffee, reading the news in the morning, or disassembling old hard-drives can be…cathartic.

I’m sure my process needs some work, but I watched a few videos and am doing a three pass shave, following a hot shower. My kit could use a bit of work, as I just went with the standard Merkur 34C that everyone gets, after reading through a few guides/faqs over on /r/wicked_edge. Likely a razor upgrade will be due at some point, but for now this one seems to work well. For now, the short of it is that I enjoy the wet shave and can’t see myself going back to my old lazy-shower shave!

Leave a Reply

