Runs Linux: Sprint Customer Support(???)

February 13, 2014

I recently had a computer repair for someone who needed me to downgrade Windows 8 to Windows 7, because Windows 8 was not compatible with their work software. For anyone that hasn’t done it, UFI can make this process a bit tricky, as access to the Bios can be limited and booting to removable media troublesome.

When I returned to their house, I did the basic setup and familiarization with them, to make sure they were comfortable with how everything worked, discuss anti-virus, some of the tools I pre-install when I do a Windows re-installation.

They wanted to run their work software while I was still there and I got a pleasant surprise when they booted up an Ubuntu based Live CD.

The company they work for is through Arise, which offers virtual call centers. They were in the process of training to work with Sprint, so I am not 100% sure how the process is after training. However, since they are training on a Linux Live environment, I would be surprised if they didn’t use that for actual work as well.

I didn’t do anything aside from making sure it would boot, but it looked like a very minimal Gnome Install, possibly Gnome 2 or at least classic shell. There were only icons for Firefox, a calculator, and an icon for some minimal settings. It utlized a bootable USB alongside a CD.

I thought this was really cool and a great idea. Linux runs great on most hardware and you can get awesome performance out of older hardware, where Windows would be slow once you started doing any real work.

Using a Live CD is also much more secure, like using a Live CD for your banking, as every-time you restart, it should be to a known-good operating system and programs. I would imagine this also gives the company a lot more control and monitoring capabilities, which they wouldn’t have if they let people run their personal computers. Since so many people’s personal computers have some form of Spyware or Malware, I see this as a no-brainer for companies that have these sorts of remote operations.

Not all companies do this though, I have worked on the computer of someone who worked for American Airlines before. He had worked for American for a while as a call center rep and took the opportunity to work from home when they offered it to him a few years ago. As far as I could tell, there wasn’t any sort of required anti-virus and very little over-site to what was running on the person’s computer, aside from running American’s call center software. Pretty scary when you think about how often their call center reps probably deal with credit card information and other confidential email during the day.

Leave a Reply

