Updating Fedora 15 to 16

December 20, 2011

I have been using Fedora for around six months now and there are a lot of things I like about it. I do, of course, miss Arch and will probably move back at some time, however Fedora has a lot of things going for it.

Also, Fedora’s release rate is fairly fast, so software is usually pretty up to date. At the time of my switch, the software I used in Arch was basically the same version as available in Fedora’s repositories, so I still get a bit of a bleeding edge feel. I went with the XFCE edition and I really enjoy the desktop environment, sans a few functionality issues, like no tabbed file browsing using thunar.

On to the Upgrade

In any case, over a month late, I finally made some time to do an in-place upgrade from Fedora 15 to Fedora 16, which was released on November 8, 2011. I followed the instructions here: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Upgrading_Fedora_using_yum#Fedora_15_-.3E_Fedora_16

Everything went smoothly and I did not run into any major issues, aside from a few broken things I needed to fix. After enabling the required services again and rebooting, everything appears to be working correctly.

Leave a Reply

