Eggs, Its Whats for Breakfast

March 5, 2010

I have some chickens that recently started laying and I am almost at the point where I am getting more eggs than I know what to do with. Of course thats not really true, because I know exactly what to do with them :) Aside from eating and giving them to my family and friends, I am going to try to make sure I give some to my neighbors as well.

If you haven’t ever had a fresh egg, than you are missing out. They taste wonderful and are great for baking. Best of all, you know exactly how they have been raised and the quality of the food they are fed. Speaking of the latter, I found a good feed store in Wendell called the Wendell Farm Market.

I had been feeding my chickens a mix of laying pellet and scratch, with the scratch meant to help stretch out the pellet a little bit. I know that isn’t the best way to do it, as the chickens can’t really digest scratch the same way they can pellet, but it saves me about 20% each time, which adds up over the course of the year.

However, I would rather feed them all pellet, so did some calling around a few days ago to see if I could find a local Farm Supply Store. This is when I found the Wendell Farm Market. I was able to get quality laying pellets for significantly less than I was paying before. I would love to offer these guys some Wendell Web Design, as they don’t appear to have a website and perhaps I could trade for some chicken feed :)

Going Local Makes a Difference
I love to shop local whenever I can and have met a number of good people that way. It always seems the quality of service seldom compares to big box stores, especially in regards to the knowledge of the people working there.

For example, when living in Angier, I needed some rotors turned and came across a local mechanic who ended up helping me out when I had a few questions about vehicle repair. So, even though I usually do my own mechanic work, I made a point to buy my tires from him.

Another example is the CarQuest in Apex. Even though it is a franchise, it is for all intensive purposes a local business, with a deep history in Apex, as well as offering a lot of mechanical services. The owner of Apex Sales and his family are some of the most helpful and friendly people out there, who have let me pick their brain on more than one occasion. This really makes a difference, so I try to buy my parts whenever possible and like to use them to get my cars inspected. The knowledge and friendliness is something you won’t find at AutoZone or Advanced Auto, but this isn’t a brand thing, it is just how the folks at the Apex Car Quest are.

So, suffice it to say, I always try to support local business whenever possible, even if it means going a little bit out of my way.

Leave a Reply

