About 2 inches of Snow in Knightdale NC so Far

January 30, 2010

The Raleigh area got some snow that started last night at around 7pm. It is still going Saturday morning, but it is more of a icy hail mix now.

I measured between 1.5 and 2 inches in most places, although it was a little lower by the trees. Fortunately, we haven’t lost power yet, well not here in Knightdale anyway. The road in my neighborhood got a pretty good coating too and it doesn’t look anyone has gone anywhere since the road got covered.

While I am not a big fan of the snow, as it looks pretty nice, but before too long it ends up being more of a inconvenience than anything else, it still looks really beautiful.

It is also nice to be able to break out the Carhartt overalls, as they are water proof, fireproof, and really warm. So, breaking out the snow gear is probably the best part of any type of cold weather for me.

It will be interesting to see what the chickens do too, because they haven’t ever seen snow before, not that they would really remember if they did though. I tried to throw the food close to the house where they could see it, so we will see how that goes.

My dog probably gets more of a kick out of the snow than I do and loves running around in it. Hopefully when it lets up some, I can let her run around some more.

Weather, Wrecks, and Supplies

I just checked WRAL, and they are reporting that there were a lot of wrecks in the Raleigh area last night. The North Carolina State Troopers reported that they responded to around 130 wrecks last night between midnight and 7AM around the Triangle. There were several wrecks reported in Cary and Raleigh as well. This reinforces the fact that if you don’t need to drive, than you probably shouldn’t.

I am glad I went and picked up some extra supplies yesterday too. It is always interesting how the Food Lion, or whatever grocery store you use, is always packed the day before a storm. I went during the day and there was still probably 5 times as many people shopping as I had ever seen at the Knightdale Food Lion.

WRAL Weather is calling for an icy mix until at least 10am, with question mark over the rest of the day, so I guess it is possible it might keep on going. I hope ice doesn’t collect on the power lines or cause any trees to fall down, as I don’t want to loose power.

Leave a Reply

